Nagaland State Logo

Chief Minister Print


CM Nagaland

Shri T.R. Zeliang

Chief Minister


T. R. Zeliang (Born 21 February 1952) is the 10th and current Chief Minister of Nagaland, a state in northeast India. A leader of the Nagaland People's Front, Zeliang took over the reins from former chief minister Neiphiu Rio following the latter's move to national-level politics in Delhi. Zeliang is a former Member of Parliament, representing Nagaland in the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Indian Parliament.

T. R. Zeliang was born the son of Rangleu Zeliang in the Mbaupungwa Village of Peren district in 1952. A Zeliang Naga, T. R. Zeliang matriculated from the Don Bosco High School in Dibrugarh, Assam and holds a B.A. degree from the Arts College, Kohima. While in college he was president of Zelaingrong Students Union, general secretary of Zelaingrong Action Committee and Zelaingrong Youth Organisation and became president of the Peren District Youth Congress of the Indian National Congress (I).

Political career

Zeliang contested the Nagaland Assembly elections of 1982 and 1987 unsuccessfully from the Tening constituency. He then won from Tening four times in a row beginning with the elections of 1989 as a candidate of the Naga People's Council and subsequently in 1993, 1998 and 2003 as a candidate of the Indian National Congress. He served as Minister of State for Information and Tourism during 1989-90 and as Minister of State for Relief & Rehabilitation from 1994 to 1998. During 1998 - 2003, he was Minister for Environment and Forests and Geology and Mining under S C Jamir. In 2003 Zeliang and six Congress MLAs formed the Nagaland Congress after defecting from the Indian National Congress only to merge with the Neiphiu Rio led Naga People's Front. From 2004 to 2008 he was a Member of Parliament to the Rajya Sabha from Nagaland. Returning to state politics in 2008, he was appointed Minister for Planning, Animal Husbandry and Parliamentary Affairs under Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio. He won the assembly elections of 2008 and 2013 from Peren.

Chief Minister of Nagaland

Zeliang who had been Minister for Planning and Coordination in the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland III ministry succeeded Neiphiu Rio as Chief Minister following Rio's election to the Lok Sabha in the Indian general elections of 2014.



Chief Ministers of Nagaland

S.NoNameTook OfficeLeft OfficeParty
1. P.Shilu Ao 1 December 1963 14 August 1966 Naga Nationalist Organisation
2. T.N. Angami 14 August 1966 22 February 1969 Naga Nationalist Organisation
3. Hokishe Sema 22 February 1969 26 February 1974 Naga Nationalist Organisation
4. Vizol Angami 26 February 1974 10 March 1975 United Democratic Front
5. John Bosco Jasokie 10 March 1975 20 March 1975 Naga National Democratic Party
  President's rule 20 March 1975 25 November 1977  
6. Vizol Angami[2] 25 November 1977 18 April 1980 United Democratic Front
7. S.C. Jamir 18 April 1980 26 February 1974 United Democratic Front-Progressive
8. John Bosco Jasokie[2] 5 June 1980 18 November 1982 Naga National Democratic Party
9. S.C. Jamir[2] 18 November 1982 28 October 1986 United Democratic Front-Progressive
10. Hokishe Sema[2] 29 October 1986 7 August 1988 Indian National Congress
  President's rule 7 August 1988 25 January 1989  
11. S.C. Jamir[3] 25 January 1989 10 May 1990 Indian National Congress
12. K.L. Chishi 16 May 1990 19 June 1990 Indian National Congress
13. Vamuzo Phesao 19 June 1990 2 April 1992 Nagaland People's Council
  President's rule 2 April 1992 22 February 1993  
14. S.C. Jamir[4] 22 February 1993 6 March 2003 Indian National Congress
15. Neiphiu Rio 6 March 2003 3 January 2008 Nagaland People's Front
  President's rule 3 January 2008 12 March 2008  
16. Neiphiu Rio [2] 12 March 2008 23 May 2014 Nagaland People's Front
17.T.R. Zeliang24 May 201419 February 2017Nagaland People's Front
18.Dr.Shurhozelie Liezietsu22 February 201718th July 2017Nagaland People's Front
19.T.R. Zeliang19 July 2017Present---------------------------
Updated date: 2017-07-21